Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Thomas Fehlmann - Honigpumpe

Label: Kompakt
Released: 2007
Style: Dub Techno, Minimal, Tech House

"There's something incredibly distinctive about Fehlmann's production style - from 'Stralensatz's opening, its bottom-heavy warmth sucks you into a real ear massage of an album. There's a clarity and crispness to the production that ushers in a certain sense of comfort, knowing that you're in the hands of a man so thoroughly on top of his game. Fehlman effortlessly brings together a mixture of hazy audio landscapes and a firm 4/4 structure with a level of fluidity that inevitably brings to mind the work of Wolfgang Voigt under his Gas moniker. At least, that's the tone the album begins with. By the time you hit 'Schaum', Fehlmann's in a slightly heavier, deepened dub mindset, albeit while still retaining that initial sense of warmth and lusciousness. 'I.R.N.I.I.Z.' is the big reminder of Kompakt past, featuring a sturdy, midtempo schaffel, but thereafter, it's back to the album's early form, with the cavernous filtered techno of 'Arbeitstitel' and the soft, jazzy minimalism of 'Atlas 2'. Very good indeed." - Boomkat


1 Strahlensatz (4:00)
2 Soziale Wärme (5:21)
3 Atlas (5:24)
4 Schaum (6:14)
5 Little Big Horn (Liegend) (6:59)
6 Bienenkönigin (6:06)
7 T.R.N.T.T.F. (6:35)
8 100 Bäume (7:29)
9 Arbeitstitel (6:20)
10 Atlas 2 (3:20)
11 Dusted With Powder (5:42)
12 With Oil (6:19)


Gregg Kowalsky - Through The Cardial Window

Label: Kranky
Released: 2006
Style: Minimal, Ambient

"For Through the Cardial Window Gregg Kowalsky used mic'ing and recording techniques to pull out hidden textures and frequencies from sound sources as diverse as recordings of the Mills Ensemble (he filtered a piece he wrote for the group through the pickup of an acoustic guitar), bowed acoustic guitar and a broken floor heater. "Into the Marshes They Drove Me" contains source material from the band Isis. Kowalsky made a track, using tones, harmonics and feedback loops. The music he creates is situated betwixt and between textural ambience, psychedelia and pure noise." - Label


1 Ashes From Evermore (7:15)
2 That In Allepo Twice (7:33)
3 Into The Marshes They Drove Me (7:51)
4 Coral Gables (5:50)
5 Long Distance Decade (8:28)
6 Gara Note (5:02)
7 Tendrils (Guitar Pickup) (2:16)


Sunday, September 7, 2008

Loscil - Submers

Label: Kranky
Released: 2002
Style: Techno, Minimal, Ambient

"Submers is the second album from the Vancouver-based Scott Morgan aka Loscil. All of the tracks are named after submarines, the final cut being a requiem for the crew of the ill fated Russian nuclear vessel Kursk. Recorded at home on computer with samples and keyboards used as sound sources, Submers is rife with source less echoes, steely surfaces and ominous melodic and rhythmic undertows. The sifted melodies are layered over muffled, clicking and pulsing rhythm tracks with an appropriately aquatic feel to the entire album. Submers is an album that easily merges ambient , contemporary classical music and minimal techno in defiance of the current mania for micro-genres.

Submers is not an exercise in process for its own sake. Melody, texture and rhythm are all at work to make a truly deep listening album." - Label


1 Argonaut I (7:12)
2 Gymnote (6:01)
3 Mute (7:32)
4 Nautilus (7:01)
5 Diable Marin (4:15)
6 Resurgam (7:37)
7 Le Plongeur (7:09)
8 Triton (6:45)
9 Kursk (7:10)


Popular Posts