Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Biosphere - Dropsonde

Label: Touch
Released: 2006
Style: Abstract, Downtempo, Ambient

"Dropsonde' isn't a soundtrack like the interwoven 'Substrata' nor an episodic journey in the way that 'Autour de la Lune' is. Here Geir Jenssen is pushing new directions towards the jazz colours of Miles Davis and Jon Hassell, whilst re-invigorating the pulse and projection of his signature sound: a hypnotic combination of pleasure and dread.

The spatial aspects some have dubbed "Arctic sound" but it summons strong feelings, or as Exclaim from Canada put it, "in order to climb higher, you must first go deeper". Jon Savage adds: "As with all of the Biosphere albums, the music draws you in and makes you want to listen and feel. Jenssen's work acts on a very emotional level, one that encourages you to drift away into a haze of images and scenes brought to you by the music, where spectacular beauty hides unseen danger. Intense and moving, but comforting and soothing at the same time."' - Label


1 Dissolving Clouds (4:28)
2 Birds Fly By Flapping Their Wings (6:35)
3 Warmed By The Drift (6:50)
4 In Triple Time (5:50)
5 From A Solid To A Liquid (5:19)
6 Arafura (5:10)
7 Fall In Fall Out (7:10)
8 Daphnis 26 (6:45)
9 Altostratus (5:11)
10 Sherbrooke (5:55)
11 People Are Friends (10:39)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts