Thursday, February 28, 2008

Susumu Yokota - Grinning Cat

Label: Leaf
Released: 2001
Style: Downtempo, Experimental, Ambient

"After the remarkable 'Sakura' from last year, Yokota returns with another mesmerising excursion for the Leaf label. Spanning the spectrum of sound that takes in Nobukazu Takemura at one end and Brian Eno at the other, Grinning Cat is a deeply mellow excursion into evocation and atmosphere. Cinematic in the rare and true sense of the word, Yokota seems to posses a rare talent for setting moods with almost effortless simplicity. The album is constructed electronically by use of an array of organic sound sources - handclaps, windchimes, heartbeats, acoustic guitar, piano......delicately brought together in a way that never seems pretentious and wholly succeeds in setting the scene for bliss. Highly Recommended." - Boomkat


1 I Imagine (2:34)
2 King Dragonfly (4:42)
3 Card Nation (4:00)
4 Sleepy Eye (2:44)
5 Lapis Lazuli (3:49)
6 Balloon in the Cage (1:02)
7 Cherry Blossom (5:25)
8 Love Bird (3:49)
9 Fearful Dream (4:10)
10 Tears of a Poet (4:36)
11 So Red (3:23)
12 Flying Cat (5:52)
13 Lost Child (3:26)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts