Monday, March 31, 2008

The Future Sound Of London - Accelerator

Label: Hypnotic
Released: 1996
Style: Techno, Ambient

"It's easy to forget just how influential FSOL were way back in the early 90's, and while much of their classic material from the 'Lifeforms' era has aquired a slightly dubious reputation given the plethora of New-Age visuals and sound-textures employed at the time, 1991's unmatched 'Accelerator' still stands as testament to their pioneering participation in the evolution of electronic music. You'll all know the played-to-death Papua New Guinea, but amongst the obscure Prince samples and "ambient" production you'll also find some mind-boggling House/Techno variants - most notably the killer Chicago House anthem "While Others Cry", the proto-bleepage of the excellent "Pulse State" and the quasi-hardcore loveliness of 'Expander'. This new edition also comes with a bonus disc lumped into the package featuring 10 (Count 'em!) remixes of Papua New Guniea - making this a bit of a bargain as well as a classic slice of early British electronic music." - Boomkat


1 Expander (5:38)
2 Stolen Documents (5:10)
3 While Others Cry (4:14)
4 Calcium (6:47)
5 It's Not My Problem (3:45)
6 Papua New Guinea (6:46)
7 Moscow (3:34)
8 1 In 8 (4:36)
9 Pulse State (7:18)
10 Central Industrial (4:19)
11 Expander (Remix) (4:49)
12 Moscow (Remix) (4:52)
13 Papua New Guinea (Graham Massey Mix)(Bonus Track) (3:45)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts