Saturday, March 15, 2008

Manual - Lost Days, Open Skies And Streaming Tides

Label: Darla Records
Released: 2007
Style: Shoegaze, Dream Pop, Ambient

"The long awaited Manual double cd Lost Days, Open Skies and Streaming Tides – a collection of rarities, remixes, covers, unreleased pieces and brand new tracks – including a new collaboration with Cocteau Twins mainman Robin Guthrie. Spanning the period from 2002, around Ascend, up to now, this is a collection that covers the entire spectrum of Jonas Munks stylings; from the minimalist drone soundscapes, to the over-the-top 1980s influenced shoegazing electronica à la his masterpiece Azure Vista, from the sweet pop-influenced gems to abstract blissed-out timeless ambient. Munk’s trademarks are all over the 19 pieces on this double disc set: the highly adventurous sense of composition that is still so unheard of in electronic music – always taking the listener on a colourful journey instead of relying on repetitions like pretty much every other electronic artist -, the mix of well-programmed beats and electronics against surreal, shimmering, heavily treated guitars, and the sunbathed 1980s romantic melancholia that has become Jonas Munk’s signature sound. It is hard to think of a more perfect introduction to Munk’s music, and for fans of his work this is simply a must! All in all, Lost Days, Open Skies and Streaming Tides includes almost an hour worth of previously unreleased music. In Jonas’ own words: “Instead of compiling every single rarity out there or every unreleased piece in the drawer, I only wanted to include the stuff that I feel is absolutely up to standard with my best work, and I feel this collection is just as important and representative of what I want to do as my most celebrated works such as Azure Vista or Ascend." - Label


Disc 1:

Manual - The Wind-Up Bird (2:15)
2 Manual - Summer Haze (5:05)
3 Manual - A Real America (5:53)
4 Manual - Blue Shibuya Dream (5:17)
5 Manual - October Sky (1:17)
6 Manual - Into The Blue (3:29)
7 Antenne - Black Eyed Dog (Manual Remix) (5:02)
8 Manual - Crossing Signals (2:04)
9 Manual - Marbella (5:01)
10 Manual - Blue Skied an' Clear (5:29)
11 Manual - Crystal Pier (5:10)
12 Port-Royal - Karola Bloch (Manual Remix) (8:26)
13 Manual - Crockett's Theme (5:38)

Disc 2:

1 Manual -
The River (23:20)
2 Manual - Open Skies (4:12)
3 Manual - Andaman (5:34)
4 Manual - April Trees Daydream (2:44)
5 Manual - Junitaki (2:22)
6 Manual - Dizzy Sun (9:12)
7 Manual - Seleva (5:58)

Link (Disc 1)
Link (Disc 2)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts